The Education Alliance is governed by a visionary Board of Directors whose members represent small businesses, state government, education, corporations and local communities from all across West Virginia.


Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Dr. Wallace E. Boston
President, American Public University System
Charles Town, WV

Nicholas "Corky" DeMarco
Executive Director, WVONGA
Charleston, WV

Andy Feeney
External Affairs Director - West Virginia, AT&T
Charleston, WV

Margie Hale
Executive Director, WV Kids Count Fund
Charleston, WV

Steven Hedrick
South Charleston, WV

Dr. Deborah Herndon
Owner, Riveting Notes LLC
Charleston, WV

Michael John
President, Northeast Natural Energy
Charleston, WV

Joe Letnauchyn
President/CEO, West Virginia Hospital Association
Charleston, WV

Carolyn Long
Campus Executive Officer, WVU Institute of Technology
Montogmery, WV

Gayle Manchin
President, West Virginia Board of Education
Charleston, WV

Dan Page
Communciations Manager, Frontier Communications
Charleston, WV

Charles K. Heinlein
State Superintendent of Schools, West Virginia Department of Education
Charleston, WV

Stephen Roberts
President, WV Chamber of Commerce
Charleston, WV

Samuel "Tres" Ross
Executive Director, The Ross Foundation
Parkersburg, WV

Scott Rotruck
Director of Energy & Transporation Services, Spilman, Thomas & Battle PLLC
Morgantown, WV

Dr. Lynne Schrum
Dean of the College of Education & Human Services, West Virginia University
Buffalo, WV

Doug Shields
General Manager of Administration, Toyota Motor Manufacturing, WV, Inc.
Buffalo, WV

Lynn Swann
Directory of Marketing, The Omni Homestead Resort
Hot Springs, VA

Melissa Dodd Veltri
Partner, Huddleston Bolen LLP
Huntington, WV

Erin Sponaugle
2014 Teacher of the Year



Directors Emeritus

Governor Gaston Caperton
Dr. Daniel Foster
Stephen Hopta
Despina "Dee" Kapourales
Dr. Priscilla Leavitt
Former First Lady Gayle Manchin
Jeri Matheney
Joseph McDonie
Lacy Rice, Jr.
Sharon Rowe
Herchiel Sims, Jr.
L. Newton Thomas, Jr.
First Lady Joanne Jaegar Tomblin

Sammy Gray, Chariman
Manager, State Affairs, FirstEnergy
Charleston, WV

Mallie Combs, Vice Chairperson
Executive Director, Hardy County Rural Development Authority
Moorefield, WV

Brett Staples, Treasurer
Senior Managing Director/Financial Advisor, BB&T Scott & Stringfellow
Charleston, WV

Ralph Baxter, Secretary
Senior Partner, Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe
Wheeling, WV

James Thomas, Past Chairman
Member, Jackson Kelly PLLC
Charleston, WV

Amelia Davis Courts, President/CEO
The Education Alliance
Charleston, WV

Howard Seufer, Jr., Research & Outreach Committee Chairman
Partner, Bowles Rice LLP
Charleston, WV

Christina Brumley
Attorney, Jackson Kelly PLLC
Charleston, WV

Charles Patton, Member-At-Large
President and COO, Appalachian Power
Charleston, WV

Bill Phillips, Member-At-Large
President, Phillips Strategy
Elkins, WV

Michelle Wittekind, QKA, QPFC, Member-At-Large
Vice President & Regional Manager, United Bank, Inc.
Charleston, WV